Influential Music Videos Volume 1


Erykah Badu “Didn’t Cha Know”

This video is so beautifully shot that it effortlessly transport you to this place in time and to this feeling of working things through. This video is very much about a journey (life) and using what you know to get to the other side.

There is a strong element of rebirth and renewal a connection that human beings, animals, and all earthly creatures experience.

The underlining message in this video is that through metamorphosis we can become human, animal earthly and one.

Jay- Z ft Swizz Beatz “Onto the Next One”

This is without doubt my favourite video ever made. I find the concept and imagery so powerful and well though out that I wished I had a small part in its production.

I am a self-professed lover of all things black and white so when this video came along as I was allowed to indulge in my passion. I think on a critical level the imagery and the cinematography is second to none.

Busta Rhymes “Gimme Some More”

I think before music became exceptionally commercial and soulless america hip hop artist’s were making outstanding music videos that were as imaginative as their musical exploits.

One such artist was Busta Rhymes. A video so experimental and colourful that could only be pulled off by Busta (back in the day) as his former persona and lyrical ability tied so seamlessly with a video that is edgy, bold and unapologetic.

Kelis “Get Along With You”

I love Kelis, I mean how can one not ever since her first video “Caught Out There” dropped I have been a devote follower, this is one of her best videos again taking us to another world a theme that carries throughout her Kaleidoscope and Wanderland albums…..in my opinion her best musical offerings.

Grace Jones “I’ve Seen That Face Before”

My wife (I wish) I’ll keep it critical and to the point of this post but J’adore Grace Jones.

That out-of-the-way this video is playful and actually in terms of production simply made. With an image as striking as Grace it’s very difficult to not be overwhelmed but this video plays to her strengths. The actions in the video are punctuated by the music and in the way Grace draws you in. Full of shape and colour this video is simple magic.

Bjork “All is Full Of Love”

Bjork, Bjork, Bjork………where do I begin she is without doubt in possession of an incredibly brilliant and complex imagination and this video is a perfect illustration. The director of this video has to of course take credit (Chris Cunningham)

The play on the human alien in relation to love is just perfect. As we all have these thoughts, feelings, this video is exceptionally mechanical but touching so hard to achieve……wonderful music that sounds as sweet as a cry and a whisper to a lover. The emotion and longing in her voice really bring home this concept. Brilliant!

About themagazinemaker

My name's The Magazine Maker and I am a fine art graduate. I am embarking on exciting visual exploration through a passion for direct imagery and in particular the aesthetic of fashion photography. I LOVE art, scratch that I LIVE art and visual culture.............so stay tuned and join me on this exciting and challenging journey, and feel free to tell me your thoughts, I look forward to exchanging with you...;-)
This entry was posted in Bjork, Busta Rhymes, Creative, Editor, Erykah Badu, Kelis, Missy Elliott, Music Video, Photography, Swizz Beatz, Visual Culture, Youtube and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

